Sonata for Trumpet and Piano

A refreshing new work in three movements for advanced players.Trumpet and piano.

Categories: , Tag:


(Order from Hickman Music Editions or music retailer)

Sonata in three movements for trumpet and piano. The movements are: Allegro moderato e pomposo, Andante sereno, and Allegro capriccioso. For trumpet in Bb or C. Advanced players.
Duration: 17’00”




music sample icon
View PDF, Movement 1


music sample icon
View PDF, Movement 2


music sample icon
View PDF, Movement 3

Composer’s Notes

Martin Hodel, Kent McWilliams and I are active musicians within our community of Northfield and well beyond. Over the years our musical paths have crossed again and again. Each time I hear them play, I am enthralled with their talent and acute musicianship. They have each also played music of mine (but not as a duo) and are familiar with many of my other compositions. So I was thrilled when Hodel asked me to write an extended composition for him to premiere with McWilliams. In 2012 this project was made possible in cooperation with the Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council, Inc., through funding from the Minnesota State Legislature and the McKnight Foundation. The work was premiered in Germany in July 2012 and was performed in three Minnesota locations in 2013.

In 2015 the work was performed on a New Works Recital at the International Trumpet Guild Conference in Columbus, Ohio, with Garrett Klein on the trumpet.