facebook link

Kallman Creates Publications
519 Winona St.
Northfield, MN 55057
Phone: 507-645-8788

Entire site copyright © 2013, Daniel Kallman
All Rights Reserved

Website comments: type Webmaster in subject line.

Heritage Renewed


(full orchestra) 20'00"

Kallman Creates Publications


Three movements tell the story of the settling of America: the immigrant spirit, industrial progress, and a resulting nation of many peoples under one flag.




Score and Parts: Rental, inquire for fee: kallman (at) kallmancreates.com




Composer's Notes:

I was commissioned to write this three movement work in 1990 for the symphony orchestra of Austin, Minnesota, the town where I was raised. Movement One traces the travels of the immigrant settlers to the New World and westward. It is loosely based on the Scandinavian folk tune known as "Behold A Host." Movement Two, depicting the rise of industry and technology, juxtaposes minimalistic rhythms with the sound of a Native American flute. Movement Three is a set of theme and variations on Woody Guthrie's " This Land is Your Land," and may include audience sing-along. Heritage Renewed is well within the range of most good community orchestras. The complete instrumentation is 3222, 4331, timpani, percussion (3 players), piano, banjo (opt.), strings.